The majestic nature, the ancient architecture, the modern art, and the extreme sports: Perm Krai surely has no shortage of wonderful sights or talented people


Sculpted by wind and water for millions of years, the Urals are incredibly picturesque. One of the most peculiar places there is Stone City. Made of ‘streets’, ‘archways’, and ‘squares’ carved into the sandstone by an ancient river long since vanished, it forms a part of the Rudyansky Spoi ridge.

Another extraordinary place in Perm Krai is Olenya Zastava (‘The Deers’ Outpost’), a deer antler therapy center where red deer live. Tourists wishing to regain their health come here to undergo treatment with various remedies based on velvet antlers. The center also offers tours that are beneficial in and of themselves, as you can watch red deer in their natural habitat.

The construction of the Kopan Canal that connected the Cheptsa and the Ocher rivers, involved the extraction of about 400 thousand cubic meters of soil. The canal was built manually in 1813–1814. It is 40 meters deep and 100 meters wide.

Located deep into the woods of Perm Krai, the town of Nytva is better known for its Museum of Spoons, which was founded over fifty years ago and has continued to grow since then. As a result, the museum boasts a marvelous collection of spoons comprising over 3,000 items. As it turns out, a simple utensil can be an art object, a historical artifact, a protective charm, and even a sacred object.

Proudly on display in many of Russia’s museums, Permian bronze casts are notable for their expressiveness, weird imagery, and the diversity of their subject-matter. The oldest items date back to the 7th century BC. Their replicas are available for sale in local shops.

The town of Solikamsk, that rose to prominence as part of the Principality of Great Perm, is fragrant with the spirit of Russia’s history. One of its most outstanding monuments of old is the architectural ensemble of the town’s main square made up by the Cathedrals of the Trinity and of the Exaltation of the Holy Cross, as well as the Churches of the Epiphany and of the Resurrection.

Kungur Ice Cave is probably the main tourist landmark of Perm Krai. Thousands of visitors from all over the world come here each year to see the subterranean palace adorned handsomely with the jewels of ice, the diamonds of hoarfrost, and the lacework of snow. A standard tour to the grottos studded with enormous icy stalactites goes on for almost 90 minutes.

The village of Ilynsky had long been the center of the Stroganovs noble family’s estate in Perm Krai. The administration building, the steward’s manor, the pond of the counts, and Russia’s first arboretum founded back in 1848 are all remnants of those times.

Visitors to the Perm Museum of Antiquities can discover 650 million years of the Earth’s history, represented here by the remains of dinosaurs, mammoths, coelacanths, and trilobites. But it’s not just about the exhibits: multimedia and interactive tours, as well as public lectures are also available.

Three Flights

  • The Sky Fair of the Urals festival, held in Kungur in late June, began with a single hot air balloon, but today balloonists from all over the country come to the town to take part in the event. For a whole week, colorful balloons soar regularly high up in the sky. Lighting is set up to make evening shows even more spectacular.
  • Each summer, ‘Mysteries of Mount Krestovaya’, a cheerful festival many locals look forward to, starts in the vicinity of the town of Gubakha. In the open air, and with the Urals serving as the set, various stage productions, ballets, musicals, and rock operas look more spectacular than ever.
  • People living in the town of Osa are definitely connoisseurs when it comes to having fun. And it shows: they chose the surface of the Kama River as their stage. In the summer, an aquatic extravaganza is held here, and it is a sight to see: jetski racing, flyboarders doing fantastic pirouettes in the air, rubber boat trials, and even attempts to swim… on snowmobiles.

Text: Dmitry Ivanov

Published on: December 20, 2017